Home » Projects » Circular economy

Circular Economy
and Zero-Waste-to-Landfill

Telecommunications technology has always been characterized by constant change and innovation. New technical components are constantly being added, which connect even more people, optimize our existing technologies and increase our performance. These are favorable developments but they also have an impact on the environment.

That is why A1 Group attaches great importance to basic ecological principles. This is reflected in our high ambitions for greenhouse gas reduction in general and in the transformation towards a circular economy in particular. By avoiding waste and conserving resources, we want to keep valuable raw materials in the material cycle for as long as possible. To make the transformation from a linear economy to a circular economy measurable we use the 9Rs. A framework according to which we align our initiatives and increase our level of circularity (Refuse, Rethink, Reduce, Reuse, Repair, Refurbish, Remanufacture, Repurpose, Recycle). But it is not enough to commit to these principles on one’s own. It is of fundamental importance to cooperate with partners because resource consumption occurs along the entire value chain.

According to the principle “the best kWh is the one that is not used in the first place”, it is also our goal to implement measures within the circular economy throughout A1 Group in such a way that resources are actively reduced and, if possible, saved. For example, artificial intelligence adapts the network operation and thus the electricity demand to the actual use and leads unused network layers into standby mode in order to save energy. Further steps towards energy-efficient operation are the cloudification of IT and smart energy management systems, which are being introduced step by step.

If it is not possible to reduce certain resources, A1 Group takes care to keep products in the material cycle for as long as possible or to enable a further life cycle.

If old devices or equipment can actually not be used any further, those devices are dismantled at their locations, systematically separated into fractions such as printed circuit boards, copper, iron or sheet metal, etc., and professionally recycled. The zero-waste-to-landfill goal is being pursued in order to also check previously less relevant waste streams for recyclability and, if necessary, to adapt the waste recycling steps. This should subsequently lead to no more non-recyclable waste being generated and all recyclable materials being returned to an utilization cycle.

Refurbishment Center in Bulgaria

A1 Group’s largest refurbishment and recycling center was opened in Bulgaria in 2016. The refurbished equipment comes not only from Bulgaria and Austria but also from A1 customers and can be reused after refurbishment.

Would you like
to find out more?

You can find more information about the company
and its ESG ambition in the section Frequently Asked Topics.

Home » Projects » Circular Economy

Circular Economy
und Zero-Waste-to-Landfill

Die Telekommunikationstechnologie ist seit jeher von ständigem Wandel und Neuerungen geprägt. Laufend kommen neue technische Komponenten hinzu, welche noch mehr Menschen miteinander verbinden, unsere bestehenden Technologien optimieren und unsere Leistungsfähigkeit steigern. Erfreuliche Entwicklungen, welche jedoch auch Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt beinhalten.

Deshalb räumt die A1 Group ökologischen Grundprinzipien einen hohen Stellenwert ein. Dies zeigt sich durch im Allgemeinen in unseren hohen Ambitionen zur Treibhausgasreduktion und im Speziellen in der Transformation in Richtung Kreislaufwirtschaft. Wir wollen mit Abfallvermeidung und Ressourcenschonung, wertvolle Rohstoffe so lange wie möglich im Wertstoffkreislauf halten. Um die Transformation von einem linearen Wirtschaften zu einer Kreislaufwirtschaft messbar zu machen, bedienen wir uns den 9Rs. Ein Rahmenwerk nach welchem wir unsere Initiativen ausrichten und unser Niveau an Zirkularität zu erhöhen.(Refuse, Rethink, Reduce, Reuse, Repair, Refurbish, Remanufacture, Repurpose, Recycle) . Es reicht aber nicht aus sich eigenständig diesen Prinzipien zu verschreiben. Es ist von fundamentaler Bedeutung mit Partner:innen zu kooperieren, denn Ressourcenverbrauch fällt entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette an.

Nach dem Prinzip „die beste kWh ist diejenige, welche erst gar nicht gebraucht wird“ ist es auch unser Ziel innerhalb der Kreislaufwirtschaft Maßnahmen in der gesamten A1 Group so zu setzen, dass Ressourcen aktiv reduziert und wenn möglich eingespart werden. Beispielsweise passt künstliche Intelligenz den Netzbetrieb und somit den Strombedarf der tatsächlichen Nutzung an und führt nicht-genützte Network-Layer in den Standby-Modus, um Energie zu sparen. Weitere Schritte in Richtung eines energieeffizienten Betriebs sind die Cloudification der IT sowie smarte Energiemanagement-Systeme, die schrittweise eingeführt werden.

Sollte eine Reduzierung gewisser Ressourcen nicht möglich sein, wird bei der A1 Group drauf geachtet, Produkten so lange im Wertstoffkreislauf zu halten bzw. einen weiteren Lebenszyklus zu ermöglichen.

Sollten alte Geräte oder Einrichtungen tatsächlich nicht weiter eingesetzt werden können, werden sie an ihren Standorten abgebaut, systematisch in Fraktionen wie Leiterplatten, Kupfer, Eisen bzw. Blech etc. getrennt und fachgerecht recycelt. Das Zero-Waste-to-Landfill Ziel wird verfolgt, um auch bisher weniger relevante Abfallströme auf Wiederverwertbarkeit zu prüfen und ggf. die Schritte der Abfallverwertung anzupassen. Dies soll in weiterer Folge dazu führen, dass kein nicht-wiederverwertbarer Abfall mehr erzeugt wird und alle Wertstoffe wieder in einen Nutzungskreislauf zurückgeführt werden.

Refurbishment Center in Bulgarien

So wurde in Bulgarien das größte Refurbishment und Recycling-Center der A1 Group bereits im Jahr 2016 eröffnet. Die wiederaufbereiteten Geräte stammen neben Bulgarien und Österreich auch von Kund:innen der A1 Group und können so nach der Aufbereitung erneut verwendet werden.

Möchten Sie
mehr herausfinden?

Sie können weitere Informationen über das Unternehmen finden
und seine ESG-Ambitionen im Abschnitt Frequently Asked Topics.