June 20, 2022

ESG Champions 2022 Ideas are the future

Back Office

ESG Champions 2022
Ideas are the future

18,000 heads of the A1 team must be a great source filled with suggestions to reduce A1’s ecological footprint, to provide more equal opportunities or to develop energy-efficient solutions – that’s what the A1 ESG managers thought when they decided to sharpen the group-wide competition with a focus on sustainability. They were right! 63 teams came together in all A1 countries, some of them cross-country wise, and packed their sustainable ideas into a presentation. The jury of CEOs and ESG country managers invited 10 teams to the Innovation Camp, where the ideas turned into projects under expert guidance. Finally, six of them convinced at the final pitch and can now call themselves A1 ESG Champion 2022.

Get to know the creative minds of two teams in this story!

Circular Economy – The Extenders

Initially three teams competed from three companies. In the course of the Innovation Camp, they saw that the overlaps in content were so great that, without further ado, they joined forces to form one team. They envision the future of the circular economy at A1 with a 2nd Chance Center. It`s all about extending the lifecycle of the devices and, if necessary, refurbish them with the aim of reintegrating them into the sales process and placing them on the market with a rental option. In addition, socially disadvantaged people can buy some of the equipment at an affordable price. For this purpose, the challenge is to create retrieval and buy-back processes in order to have enough equipment available. Acting more sustainable with CO2 reductions and resource conservation through the reuse of materials are good for the environment, and also A1 benefits from this initiative for a better tomorrow. If everything goes according to plan, we look forward to a trial of the »affordable phone« in Carinthia and the »2nd Chance Center« in Slovenia in the coming months!

Jury rating: The team »The Extenders« has its finger on the current trend with its idea on various facets of the ESG topic, especially the link to the social component. The cross-company cooperation also shows sustainable commitment in the A1 Group.

IoTrees – CO2-Free IoT Tracking


IoT – the Internet of Things – with its solutions not only brings numerous advantages to customers in terms of speed and precision in the provision of data, but unfortunately also causes CO2 emissions in the production of hardware and the operation of networks. The IoTrees team convinces with a solution for IoT customers: an exact calculation of CO2 emissions of projects and a compensation by planting trees.

Jury rating: »IoTrees« has recognized that the topic of IoT is becoming more and more important and since A1 currently does not have any methods to offset the CO2 balance here, this idea is a first good implementable approach with potential of elaboration in the future.

Together we can all contribute to a better tomorrow!
#EmpoweringASustainableFuture

Home Search ESG Champions 2022 Ideen sind Zukunft

ESG Champions 2022
Ideen sind Zukunft

In den 18.000 Köpfen des A1 Teams schlummern bestimmt Vorschläge den ökologischen Fußabdruck von A1 zu reduzieren, für mehr Chancengleichheit zu sorgen oder energieeffiziente Lösungen zu entwickeln, so die Motivation der ESG Verantwortlichen den gruppenweiten Wettbewerb mit dem Fokus auf Nachhaltigkeit zu schärfen. Sie sollten recht behalten! Stolze 63 Teams haben sich in allen A1 Ländern, teils auch länderübergreifend zusammengefunden und ihre nachhaltigen Ideen in eine Präsentation gepackt. Die Jury aus CEOs und ESG Länderverantwortlichen lud 10 Teams ins Innovation Camp ein, wo unter fachkundiger Anleitung aus den Ideen Projekte wurden. Und schließlich überzeugten 6 von ihnen beim Abschluss-Pitch und dürfen sich heute A1 ESG Champion 2022 nennen.
Zwei davon stellen wir hier vor!

Circular Economy – The Extenders

Angetreten sind ursprünglich drei Teams aus drei Unternehmen. Im Zuge des Innovation Camps haben sie gesehen, dass die inhaltlichen Überschneidungen so groß sind, dass kurzerhand die Kräfte zu einem Team gebündelt wurden. Die Zukunft der Kreislaufwirtschaft bei A1 stellen sie sich mit einem 2nd Chance Center vor. Die Lebenszeit der Geräte soll verlängert und im Bedarfsfall refurbished werden, mit dem Ziel sie wieder in den Verkaufsprozess zu integrieren und letztlich als Mietoption auf den Markt zu bringen. Außerdem soll ein Teil der Geräte zu einem leistbaren Preis an sozial schwache Bevölkerungsschichten verkauft werden. Dazu müssen Rückhol- und Rückkauf-Prozesse geschaffen werden, um über genügend Geräte zu verfügen. CO2 Reduktionen sowie Ressourcenschonung durch Wiederverwendung von Materialien sind gut für die Umwelt und auch A1 profitiert von dieser Initiative für ein besseres Morgen. Läuft alles nach Plan, freuen wir uns in den nächsten Monaten auf einen Trial des „affordable phones“ in Kärnten und des „2nd Chance Centers“ in Slowenien!

Jurybewertung: Das Team „The Extenders“ liegt mit seiner Idee am Puls der Zeit mit verschiedenen Facetten des ESG Themas, insbesondere der Verknüpfung mit der sozialen Komponente. Auch die unternehmensübergreifende Zusammenarbeit zeigt nachhaltiges Commitment in der A1 Group.

IoTrees – CO2-Free IoT Tracking

IoT – das Internet der Dinge – bringt mit seinen Lösungen nicht nur den Kund:innen zahlreiche Vorteile hinsichtlich der Geschwindigkeit und Präzision in der Bereitstellung von Daten, sondern verursacht leider auch CO2 Emissionen bei der Produktion von Hardware und dem Betreiben der Netzwerke. Das IoTrees Team überzeugt mit einer Lösung für IoT Kunden: CO2 Emissionen von Projekten werden exakt berechnet und durch das Pflanzen von Bäumen kompensiert.

Jurybewertung: „IoTrees“ hat erkannt, dass das Thema IoT immer bedeutender wird und da A1 aktuell noch keine Verfahren hat, um die CO2 Bilanz hier auszugleichen ist diese Idee ein erster guter umsetzbarer Ansatz, der in Zukunft auch weiter gedacht werden kann.

Gemeinsam können wir alle dazu beitragen, für ein besseres Morgen zu sorgen!
#EmpoweringASustainableFuture